The 5 Senses of Love


“Love never fails…And now these three remain: faith, hope, and love.  But the greatest of these is love.”

1 Corinthians 13:8-13


Today is what we call Love Day, better known as Valentine’s Day.

I believe this is a wonderful day because of the wonderful plans men and women across the world make for their significant other.

However, make sure your love is just as expressive the other 364 days out of the year.

There is no doubt, love is the universal language.

All of our 5 senses are quite aware when they have experienced love.

Acts 20:35 in the Bible says, “…It’s better to give than to receive.”

This is especially true when it comes to L-O-V-E.

Many times, we receive whatever we give out.

To be cliche’, “What goes around comes around.”  Better yet, the Bibles talks about a person reaping what he or she has sown in Galatians 6:7-8.

So let’s talk about the 5 senses of love, which should be evident to those who we love dearly and to those who may be just a passerby on the street.



The 5 Senses of Love

1. Sight

You can always see love.  It’s eye contact.  It’s your observance and acknowledgment of negative and positive changes of a person, especially with a friend.  However, be careful with the negative.  Some things are better left unsaid, unless it will harm the other person if you don’t say it.  It’s called TACT.  And I wouldn’t encourage you acknowledging a negative about a person you just met.  You must first develop a relationship.

2. Hearing

Love can be heard.  It’s the tone of your voice.  A great example is the affect of a loving voice with a baby.  Before you even touch a baby, he or she can hear the love you are bring to them.  This applies to any relationship.

3. Taste

A simple way to describe this sense is through food, but it’s also applicable with a kiss.  (Enough said???)  We sometimes forget, the words we use can leave a taste in another persons mouth.  Kind and encouraging words leave positive long lasting impressions, but harsh words can leave behind negative memories.  These negative memories jeopardizes the development of love.

4. Touch

Your friend, wife, and children can tell how happy you are to see them by your handshake, hug, kiss, etc.

5. Smell

Every smell brings about a negative or positive memory, unless it is new.  So, your house, car, food, clothes, body smell, and more is a big part of our smelling sense knowing that love is close.


Action: Let your 5 senses tap into love by giving and receiving to all around you.  Make everyday a love day.

Question(s): If you had choose between love or anything else in this world, which would you choose? (Please leave a comment below.)

MTN Universal
Be the wEiRd this world needs!
Follow us on Twitter
Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Pinterest